//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Getting Back

I am getting back to writing a little more. I took a hiatus to work on a dissertation which I completed. I am currently in the process of going through the various twists and turns to completion.

I found the beginnings of something that I started back in July. It’s so interesting going back almost six months after my last post here. Within that time frame I think I have changed a lot. What was once so important to me is now so trivial. It truly is an amazing phenomenon that when we seek out ways to become better people and take an honest inventory of ourselves. I have found that this sort of change happens more quickly than if we sat on our laurels expecting the world to change around us.

I also realized that this was a really personal space. Maybe too personal.

But…I decided not to take that material down. I left it as a reminder of who I was then and who I am becoming now.

Expecting others to change is a way to avoid change in ourselves.

Of course if we are sitting back on our laurels expecting the change to occur around us, are we really changing at all or resisting the flow of impermanence that is simply the way the universe works.

This is from July of 2012:

Some more brief thoughts I’ve collected over the past few weeks…

We have become a society where greed is our primary addiction and corporate boards and politicians are our suppliers.

The first line of defense against that which makes us insane is indifference.

About Andrew Tatusko

Secularization, critical pedagogy, sometimes agnostic, politics, and a ton of running. Penn State is definitely not responsible for what I say.

Discussion

No comments yet.

What do you think?

