//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Forgiveness

I always thought I needed to forgive myself before I could forgive others. But I didn’t know how to forgive myself until I received the forgiveness of others.

The formula is really simple. If I don’t know what forgiveness means or I don’t know how to practice it, I need help. But from where or whom?

It all begins with a leap of faith forged by honesty and humility. If I’m honest and dig deep enough I’ll find people I’ve harmed in some way no matter how small. Some might reject my pleas for forgiveness. However, there will be many others who will accept them.

Relationships will heal. I will start to stand up straighter. I may believe those who forgive me enough that I will slowly start to forgive myself. This way my own faults become my greatest teacher.

Honesty, humility, and vulnerability: on these pillars I can learn that by seeking others’ forgiveness I will start to forgive myself.

About Andrew Tatusko

Secularization, critical pedagogy, sometimes agnostic, politics, and a ton of running. Penn State is definitely not responsible for what I say.

Discussion

No comments yet.

What do you think?

