//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

The Dog Escapee and the The Kindness of Strangers

Friday night I took the kids to the grocery store to do what we normally do: get a few things for the weekend and get a DVD to watch. I always have Daria the Black Lab in the passenger’s seat. Simple and consistent routine.

Friday it got complicated. As the kids were exiting the car, and before I even noticed what was happening, Daria bolted out the back door! I told the boys to wait there for a second. Reeling the dog back wouldn’t take that long would it?

OK, deep breath Drew, I’ll get the dog, drag her back to the car, and all will be well.

She found her way into the grocery store foyer. I forgot that grocery stores are filled with food and dogs have amazing noses.

At least now she’s trapped so I can grab her.

The inner door to the grocery store was wide open. Daria bolted into the grocery story with her webby lab feet skittering on the floor.

She can’t run that fast in here can she?

It’s like she had Spiderman hands on the pads of her feet. She took off in the store.

“Daria! Come here!” I said in my best yelling Dirty Harry voice.

Now the game was afoot. I was worried that she would start chowing down on something just to add the cherry on the top of this crazy moment. She was darting in and out of aisles. I would corner her and she would dart the other way. Tail wagging she was having the time of her life. What heaven for a dog!

God please be with the boys outside.

Eventually a few people helped me corner her. I grabbed her collar to do the walk of shame through the grocery store from one end to the other. As I was dragging her out of the store no one was looking at us and just going about their business.

Has this happened before?

When I got back to the car there was a family standing there with the boys. They had stood there with them the entire time. Now feeling like a lousy parent and dog owner, I told them how thankful I was. But again, before I could thank them much more, they simply walked away. We got the dog in the car and then started our merry little shopping for the weekend.

I have no clue who the various people were who stepped in to offer help that night. It was like there was a dozen angels that intervened to help us out and then disappeared into thin air. I never saw any of them in the grocery store. It was all very surreal. I’m not sure they would want any more thanks. They were just doing what they were inclined to do to help out.

The night of the Dog Escapee gave me hope in the decency of humanity. I am of the belief that we aren’t born depraved, but we all have a natural inclination to give and receive what is good. We only choose to consent to good or evil. That night the consent to good was passed on to me and my boys… and even the Daria the Dog Escapee.

About Andrew Tatusko

I do: faculty development at penn state | I study: higher education and religion | I dig: music | I'm politically: leftist | I'm not: the doc on celebrity rehab

Discussion

3 thoughts on “The Dog Escapee and the The Kindness of Strangers

  1. Oh Dear, I was laughing out loud and cheering when it was over! Fun Post, well fun for us, scary for you.

    Posted by notsofancynancy | June 11, 2012, 11:52 AM
  2. Wow I felt tense reading this story. As an somewhat over protective mom and always wanting to make sure everyone is taken care of this story had me on the edge of my seat. I am so thankful it all turned out well, and thank goodness for the loving goodness that does exist in this world.

    Posted by hastywords | June 11, 2012, 10:29 AM

What do you think?

